Happy Birthday…Well not to me.

This past weekend we had celebrated my father’s birthday. Traditionally, as it is his favorite type of cake, he always wants a cheesecake for his birthday. I obliged and went along to make a nice Italian style cheesecake which is a bit different than the more traditional New-York style cheesecake typically seen.

Image

As the above photo shows, this was done in a 9 inch spring-form pan. For the bottom crust all that was needed was almond slivers or slices, graham crackers (I used the cinnamon ones), some unsalted butter, and my optional unsweetened cocoa powder. They are all blended together (I used my magic bullet) until fine ground and slightly moist. It was then spread over the bottom of the pan and baked in the oven for 15 minutes at 350.

Now for the filling, it was 16 ounces, cream cheese, 16 ounces mascarpone cheese, 1 cup sugar (I used fine grain), some lemon juice, some cinnamon, and I flavored it with a white port which was infused with chocolate.

After the crust was baked on its own, I let it cool and then poured in the above mentioned mixture after I mixed it until smooth. The spring-form pan was placed in a turkey roaster which was then filled with water up to about 3/4 up the side of the cake pan. This was then places in the oven at 325 for just over an hour.

Image

Upon completion of cooking, I let it sit on the counter for one hour to cool and then put into the refrigerator to settle (at least 8 hours). After that period, I then made a light cream with mascarpone and whipping cream for the outer edge and then used a rubber spatula to place almond slices along the sides.

Image

For the top, I had taken pecans and roasted them in some oil and spices in the oven for about 20 minutes, let them cool, and ground them a little in my magic bullet. I also proceeded to make a caramel sauce which was just a little bit of water, sugar (used both regular and brown), some heavy cream and some vanilla extract to flavor. I spread a little bit of this over the top (allowed for a surface for the pecans to stick too) and used the excess to drizzle over the individual slices.

Image

Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday…Well not to me.

    • Thank you for reading and now following my blog. Besides how something tastes I feel presentation and appearance are very important aspects as well- especially when it is on a blog where there is no benefit of the readers having the “taste” component. I also put emphasis on this as being in my mid 20’s and having many friends who don’t exactly cook much of anything (easy-mac doesn’t count lol), with some of the easier recipes its a good way to help urge them to start.

Leave a Reply

