A different type of Roast (Wild Boar)

The other day while rummaging through the supermarket meats I was looking for certain portion of the duck to work with. However, I did not find what I was originally looking for but I then stumbled upon the D’Artagnan Wild Boar Roast. From there, a meal was made.

Image

Along with the roast, I decided to pick up an intense earthy brie, some fresh rapini, and some shiitake mushrooms. To start off, I had left the roast on the counter to get closer to room temperature before placing in the oven. In my large deep skillet, I diced up some garlic cloves, carrots, mushrooms, and a few pieces of the rapini and sauteed in a combination of oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary. After about ten minutes, I then added a cup of water and about the same of a dry white wine. The roast itself I had butterfly cut and added pieces of the intense brie on the inside and then seasoned the outside with salt and pepper. I then placed this in the deep skillet with the vegetable solution, covered, and put in the oven for an hour and a half.

_DSC5285

As these vegetables were just used to flavor the juice and eventual gravy, I had then in a separate pot/pan prepared some rapini and mushrooms. I had filled a saucepan with water and put the heat on high. I then added a fair amount of salt to this solution. Once it started to boil I added rapini and mushrooms and left in the water bath for about 45 seconds. They were then placed into an ice-water bath to cool. Once cool, I put on towels to dry out somewhat. I then used some infused oil with truffle, some salt and some garlic and sauteed the rapini and shiitakes for about 5 minutes.

_DSC5290

 

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

