Beef Ribs- A nice meal…and easy to have some left-overs as well

I am now past the halfway point of the first week of my new job as a chemist at FujiFilm down in Delaware. The days are not too overbearing however until I either finish training and go on normal shifts or move in the fall. besides work I also have a decent sized commute. These factors as well as others will dictate a little more of what I will be cooking and eating- become a little more practical in the sense of easy cook or things with nice pre-prep (i.e. evening before) as well as potentiality of left-overs, i.e. next day lunch. For this one I did some beef ribs.

I was doing some food shopping last night and was looking for some different ideas and I came across beef ribs (racks are similar to baby backs but instead of pork are beef). I bought a package (typically two rack pieces) and took one section and cut up the ribs individually. I made a sauce/marinade blend  consisting of tomato paste, pinot noir, chili powder, and other various spices. They were all mixed well in a pot and sat in the refrigerator over night.

Image

This pot in the evening was then put in the oven at around 300 degrees which then gave me time to prep side dishes. Tonight I did fried/breaded cauliflower and from an earlier meal had couscous with shiitake mushrooms and various spices.

The nice thing was the cooking time in the oven gave me time to get the wash on and in the dryer and then by the time everything all done and cleaned up time to get all the laundry. It was simple enough cooking where I have extra ribs and cauliflower which will now be a weekday lunch while at work. Simple, tasty, practical.

Image

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

