Borrowed Idea— Apple Strudel

One of the many things I love about having the blog is interacting with fellow bloggers and coming across many ideas which may be good as they are to try or in some cases tailoring recipes to your own liking/cravings.

In this particular case, I had borrowed the recipe by Liz over at MY FAVOURITE PASTIME and made some tweaks to an already amazing apple strudel.

Image

If you are following the original recipe, nothing really changes with the dough except I added a little vanilla extract at that point. To make it easier for you, here is the original dough:

  • 225g (13/4 cup, 8oz) all-purpose (plain) flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 30ml (2 tablespoons) vegetable oil
  • 4-5 tablespoons tepid water (I added 4 tablespoons water)
  • ½ teaspoon cider vinegar—

I did not use the vinegar instead I just poured in some vanilla extract.

The major changes in my version came a little but in the way of making the filling. To make it easier for you here is Liz’ original filling:

  • 450g (1Ib) cooking apples (I used 4 apples, granny smith)
  • 75g sugar (⅓ cup, 3oz) If you want it sweeter, please suit your palate and double or triple
  • ½ teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg or ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 40g (1½oz) flaked almonds
  • 50g (⅓ cup, 2oz) seedless raisins
  • I tablespoon grated lemon or lime rind (I used lime rind)

In my case, I went with Granny Smith apples as well (they are by far my favorite) and in the realm of sugar I did a combination of plain old sugar and some brown sugar. I’m also not a big raisin guy but I do love cranberries so I switched to Craisins. My next major change is how/when I prepared my filling. The original recipe called for making it as close to filling time as possible. Me, I like things to marinate and ferment, so before letting the dough rest for an hour, I prepared the apples (put in bowl with some lemon juice so they do not brown), added the craisins, the almonds, and besides cinnamon I added some ground clove and some nutmeg. To really strengthen what I will call my “fall flavors” I added in a few teaspoons of pot-distilled rum, mixed well and set covered in fridge for close to an hour and a half. I then took the recipe through to the end from that point with using melted butter to close up the strudels and to baste before cooking in the oven.

Image

Thanks again Liz for a creation worth remaking. Looking forward to many more.

 

*Post Edit: Forgot to mention, after the baking time, I knocked off the roasted almonds off the top, brushed with honey and stuck them back on. Yes I know I could have roasted them on the side however, it was a post baking thought that popped to mind. 🙂

One thought on “Borrowed Idea— Apple Strudel

  1. It looks delicious and must have tasted really nice after marinating in all those extras, using Craisins and topping off with rum. I wish I could taste it. I think the Craisin-apple combination is an excellent one. I shall borrow your idea next time and blend with some idea I saw the other day from another blog. I’m so happy to have inspired you. Wish you a wonderful weekend ahead. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

