Hazelnut Crusted Pork Chops

A huge portion of the time, I typically do not cook much pork. There are days where I do see certain dishes or get ideas and then I just go for it. This one is a bit of a variation from an idea I had seen Mario Batali do on the Chew a few days back.

Image

Simply put, the coating is a mixture of fine chopped hazelnuts and some unseasoned bread crumbs. I utilized thin sliced bone-in chops, coated with flour, dipped in an eggwash and then put on the coating. Meanwhile, I had put a combination of olive oil and butter in a pan and put on medium heat (start cooking the chops when brown butter starts to form).

Image

In the meantime, I had put white asparagus in a pot of boiling water and cooked until tender. I then drained the pot and rinsed with cold water to stop the cooking process. I then did a quick saute with truffle-infused oil, salt, pepper, and fresh basil.

In a separate bowl, I finely chopped up some shallots, red onion, and granny smith apple. These were tossed together in a bowl which I added some oil as well as some honey and mixed together. This mixture was placed on the chop after cooked through (they were cooked a few minutes on each side).

Image

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

