Baby Back Ribs Done in the Oven.

Every so often I tend to get a craving for something I have not had in quite a while: could be due to scarcity of a product, seasonal/weather related issues (as in this case), or price/time constraints. I was in the mood for some baby back ribs, so despite cold winter weather, I created a nice indoor version.

_DSC9879

A day ahead, I had made a marinade of brown sugar, soy sauce, ancho chili, and some soy sauce. I put the rubs in a ziploc bag and left in the fridge overnight until the next afternoon. I set the oven to 450 and prepped the ribs by placing them on cooling racks over a sheet pan. I then cooked them for 20 minutes with the curved side upwards.

In the meantime, the extra marinade I put in a small saucepan and added some fresh ginger, garlic, and a little corn starch. I then heated lightly until it started to boil, added in some ale and let simmer until it reduced to a nice consistency like bbq sauce. After the initial 20 minutes in the oven, I then took the rack out, basted the ribs on the same side and put back in for about 10 minutes. I then flipped the ribs over, coated the other side and cooked for another 15 minutes.

_DSC9885

Nice sticky glaze, tender juicy ribs. A nice side of seasoned fries.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

