Mille-feuille- or for the many Americans… Napoleon

This falls under the list of one of my favorite pastries I’ve had from growing up. I remember years ago when my grandfather was still around it was one his favorites so that desire got imparted onto me. The problem these days though is, where exactly in Southern New Jersey can you find a “legit” fresh version of one. Well, I haven’t come across one, so I did the next best thing…I consulted my Bouchon Bakery cookbook and started from square one.

_DSC9760

Now, I am sure there are manyb recipes and ways of creating this pastry- for everything from how to make a nice laminated dough variations in making the cream(s). But, like anything else, if you want the best, you may have to put in quite a bit of time and effort.

The laminated dough concept is not too difficult to start up. There are some tricks and things to look out for. When doing the turns you want to make sure the dough is nice and solid as the butter block in the middle if it gets to soft will make it harder to fold and get the distinct layers you want when it bakes. Overall, the process is not difficult, but to do ir properly to “Bouchon perfection” takes quite a bit of time.

For the cream, which the end point is a nice mousseline cream, there are two bases- start off with a buttercream and also a pastry cream and then blend the two together. As it is something I had not necessarily seen in the grocery stores (I had purchased on Amazon) for the pastry cream go with using custard powder). Upon completion of blending these items, then spread out on a sheet pan and freeze the rectangular block.

After the dough is baked, it gets cut into strips which then the frozen cream is cut to fit and then it is alternating layers. Personal preference for topping, I made a fresh whipped cream as well as a nice chocolate-cream sauce.

_DSC9756

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

