Apple Macadamia Pancakes

After the past week of seeing numerous posts about pancakes, I figured with some free time on the weekend I’d have to get in on the action. With what I had lying around the kitchen I came up with some Apple Macadamia pancakes (topped with some powdered sugar).

_DSC0159

Ingredients:

1 cup milk

1 cup all  purpose flour

1/2 cup all wheat pastry flour

2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon olive oil

2 teaspoon sugar

1 apple, peeled and diced

1/3 cup macadamia, small pieces (I used mortar and pestle)

2 teaspoon honey

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon all spice

In a small bowl i threw in the diced apple, macadamia nuts, honey, cinnamon, and allspice and mixed well.

In a separate bowl I started by pouring in the milk. I then added in both flours and mixed lightly. I then proceeded to add in the sugar, baking powder, and olive oil, and mixed thoroughly. To finish off the batter I added in the apple-macadamia combination, mixed thoroughly and let sit for a few minutes.

While it was resting, I turned on 2 burners (my griddle covers one side of the range) and added some butter. Once heated, I then poured in some batter (just over a third of a cup per pancake) let cook slightly until bottom was solid and flipped to cook the other side. Upon completion I threw on some powdered sugar.

_DSC0164

Enjoy.

 

2 thoughts on “Apple Macadamia Pancakes

  1. Apple and macadamia is a combination I would never have thought of. But I love apples and I love macadamia so why not in a pancake?. The next time I whip up some pancake batter I will remember this interesting combo. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

