A Mixed Cream of Vegetable Soup

I always enjoy going to a produce market as in most instances there is a variety of vegetables you do not normally see in the grocery store and there are typically a lot of very great prices. And in times like this, I get a tad overzealous and have more than I know what to do with so I start to try different combinations and types of meals and thus I came across an interesting soup combination: Cream of Broccoflower and Asparagus with sweet onion and lemongrass- topped with mild cheddar and sauteed broccolini.

Image

You can choose any stock you want as a base, but since yesterday I had made 5 quarts of fresh chicken stock, I went with that. I started off by pouring in a little olive oil and sauteed the sweet onion along with the lemongrass. I diced up the broccoflower and asparagus into smaller pieces and added them to this mix.

I let that cook for a few minutes and then added in 5 cups of stock and 5 cups of warm water and brought to a simmer. I then put the lid on the stock pot and let it cook for an hour or so.

At this point, I proceeded to add in 1 and half cups heavy cream and put the lid back on again. In a separate pan I sauteed some broccolini which I would later on put as sort of an edible garnish on the soup along with the cheddar.

Image

At the two hour mark, I took out my immersion blender and blended the whole thing right in the stock pot (saves time and effort of transferring to a blender/mixer etc. and doing it that way. I then poured the soup into the bowl tossed in the broccolini and some shredded cheddar.

Image

Enjoy.

9 thoughts on “A Mixed Cream of Vegetable Soup

    • I agree with you on that, though lately it is hard to judge when it will be warm or cold- keeps going from 60’s to getting some snow and I think today its back up in the 60’s.

  1. You sound like a real restaurant: “Cream of Broccoflower and Asparagus with sweet onion and lemongrass- topped with mild cheddar and sauteed broccolini.” This is the kind of soup I would eat any day, come rain, shine or snow. I don’t really mind, unless we are in the middle of summer. Enjoy your weekend!

    • Thank you very much, was a rather busy weekend visiting some family and friends. Cream of vegetable soups are quite nice because they are somewhat easy to do for the most part- only thing hard/time consuming is making stock- well worth it.

  2. Vegetable soups are so nice and can never be tiring since there are so many different types of vegetables to utilize. They are also good as a nice way to incorporate some healthier meal options instead of meats, pastas, etc. all the time.

    • lol that sounds like me. In some cases I have 1 or 2 singular plates or bowls just because they look cool and go well with the photos and certain food styles.

      • I’m also OCD and have to have collections of things..

        They have really helped you to capture that food in a very enticing manner!!

Leave a Reply

