Lunch-time Salad

_DSC0272

Typically i try to reserve the “good stuff” and by that I mean the not quite as healthy food for dinnertime, so a lot of times when it comes to lunch I eat a bit lighter and have been leaning towards salads as of late.

In this instance, I went with a base of Romaine Lettuce and added in fresh Spinach leaves. From there I tossed in some chopped up carrots and cucumbers.

Somewhere along the lines I decided to toss in some strawberries and pineapple pieces as I figured they would bode nicely along with the pan seared tuna (seasoned with salt and pepper and sauteed in peanut oil).

Instead of actual dressings, I usually top my salads with some variation of oil/vinegar combo- I have various oils I may use such as sesame or olive and have various balsamis and white vinegars i.e. Juniper-Berry, Sherry, Honey-Chile…

 

Enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Lunch-time Salad

  1. OH goodness!! Someone else who does fruits in their salads!! We do it all the time.

    Kotah, my daughter is allergic to anything with Lactose, Gluten or egg and so we eat alot of fresh fruit and salads.

    I add oranges, mandarins, apples, green grapes in with my salads. we all love them and feel like other salads just are not on par whenever we eat out!!

    Looks delicious by the way, might have to give it a try!!

    ML
    x

    • I feel you on that when it comes to salads (reason why I will hardly ever eat a salad when I’m out somewhere unless if it comes with the meal).

      That must be challenging with Lactose, Gluten, or Egg allergies.

      Here is a link to one of the blogs i follow (she does all Gluten-Free foods) may give you some new ideas and takes on things—

      http://officiallyglutenfree.com/

      • Thank you very much for taking the time to post that link – every recipe helps šŸ™‚ – particularly when you have so many foods that are restricted.

        As you can see – we get by, being very creative with fresh foods and foods with minimal processing šŸ™‚ – I.e. fruits in fresh salads.

        ML
        x

Leave a Reply

