Grilled Baby-backs- a few styles.

Now that I can assume the weather should stay moderately warm, I can say grilling season is here to stay. I can then say it has been fun doing some experimenting with different ways of preparing baby back ribs for the grill.

Image

For the first round, I prepared a dry rub of red onions, garlic, salt, pepper, sweet peppers, rosemary, chili powder, brown sugar, and scallions. I placed the rack on a sheet pan and poured a little whiskey in the bottom, foil-wrapped, and left in the refrigerator for two days.

Image

After two days, I then started off by slow cooking the pan in the oven at 200 degrees for 2 hours. I then put them on the grill and used a homemade sweet-tangy barbecue sauce which I did in two coatings. The side of corn I soaked the husks and basted the corn with a mixture of oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper.

Image

For the second round I started off a little differently. I used some of the same spices as with the first time, but then I turned it into a moist rub by the addition of finely dicing up some pineapple and mixing it with some tequila. I then also added some tequila to the bottom of the pan.

Image

I did a similar cooking prep except I turned the oven to 180 degrees instead of 200. I also did a lighter addition of barbecue sauce (same kind but I added some more smoky elements and chili powder to offset a little more with the sweetness of the rub).

In this instance I decided to make some homemade fries (which I cooked in the oven at 380 degrees). I cut the potatoes up into strips, lightly basted them with some olive oil and used some salt, pepper, diced up garlic and scallions and baked. Upon completion, I tossed them in some truffle-infused oil and served.

Overall, both cases for preparing the ribs were a success. I felt the moister rub (and possibly the slightly lower oven temperature) left a slightly moister rib when fully cooked/grilled, but at the same time I love having that thick, partially starting to blacken sauce on my ribs. In the end, can’t go wrong with either route.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

